A LUMP (Praise to Cancer Survivors- as we celebrate 4th Day )

As I stand in front of mirror
how ugly I felt
recalling the last day
of college entitled as
Ms Farewell draped in pink saree
with long black hairs
call it as a curse to my family
but now I call it as a blessing to me

not a misery, but as a bliss I take it
Scariest day
Sleepless nights
when doctors diagnosed a lump
growing and rising
rapidly and progressively
inside my body
undergone therapies
underwent surgeries

how popular I was overnight
on newspapers
in the society
as a motivation
stating me as
a fighter
but I call myself
as a beautiful survivor who
went through it all
thriving

who learnt
a new meaning
of life
thanking God each millisecond
for each breath I took
thanking God for a
life he gave me
to re live
as I was reborn
as an inspiration
whose life halted and stopped
but I didn’t.

Author: Pareesa Rabbani

Medical Student /Personal blogger

Leave a comment